Akeredolu Inaugurates Tertiary Institutions’ Governing councils,  Insist on School Fees Hike

By: David Fidelis

Governor Rotimi Akeredolu of Ondo has charged the newly inaugurated tertiary institutions’ governing council boards to perform their duties optimally in order to ensure academic excellence in the state while insisting that there will be an increment in school fees of tertiary institutions in the state.

The event was held at the International Centre for Culture and Events, Akure , the state capital.

According to the governor, an ill educated society can not develop realistically, hence the prioritization of education by his administration and the constitution of these men and women of goodwill and proven integrity to reinvigorate the four state tertiary institutions in Ondo State.

Akeredolu enjoined them to see themselves lucky to deliver humanitarian services to the people,  most especially in state like Ondo where there are many people of intellectual fecundity.

He said his administration is determined to further strengthen the development of Education in Ondo State, noting that education is a must in the state.

” You are appointed to take decisions, therefore, accountability and transparency should be your cardinal principles and also ensure that you develop policies that will ensure academic excellence in the state “.

Responding on behalf of other appointed institutions board, Dr. Tunji Abayomi, Pro-Chancellor/ Chairman Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba Akoko, AAUA, thanked the governor for giving them the opportunity to serve the good people of ondo promising that with the calibre of leaders appointed, a new education atmosphere will surface in Ondo State.

” Despite the financial challenges rocking the four tertiary institutions in the state, we will face those challenges and we promise to deliver optimally “.

The newly Inaugurated members include

Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba Akoko, AAUA,

Dr. Tunji Abayomi- (Pro-Chancellor/ Chairman); Prof. Wole Akeredolu; Princess Dupe Adeluwoye; Mr. Wale Gbakinro; Arc. Tosho Ale; Mr. Sam Erejuwa; Special Adviser on Education and Commissioner for Finance.

Others are Commissioner for Economic Planning; Commissioner for Education, Science and Technology; Engr. Remi Osiberu; Mrs. Ibim Semenitari; Dr. Ibrahim Eneye and Dr. Emmanuel Onyeama.

For University of Medical Sciences, Ondo, UNIMED,

Dr. Tayo Fawehinmi (Pro-Chancellor/ Chairman); Prof. Tolu Odugbemi; Chief Adetola Wewe; Dr. Adeluse Obe; Special Adviser on Health; Commissioner for Health; Commissioner for Education, Science and Technology; Mr. Tolu Fadahunsi; Surveyor Niran Akinniyi, Chief Isaac Akintade and Dr.Yemi Mahmud.

Ondo State University of Sciences and Technology, Okitipupa, OSUSTECH,

Prof. Akinbo Adesomoju- (Pro-Chancellor/Chairman); Prof. Segun Adegbulugbe; Prof. Michael Faborode; Mr. Foluso Aminu; Chief Ola Iwaeni; Secretary to the State Government, SSG; Commissioner for Finance; Commissioner for Education, Science and Technology;  Chief Rotimi Ibidapo; Dr. Festus Adejuyite; Prince Jimi Odimayo and Mrs. Pipeola Ikotun.

While Rufus Giwa Polytechnic, Owo, RUGIPO,

Chief Banji Alabi- (Chairman), Engr. Febi Adeyemi, Gen. Joshua Adebayo Omosebi (Rtd), Chief Olaide Adelami, Mr Deolu Ijose, Mrs. Olufunke Agagu, Otunba Andrew Aroloye, Mr. Jide Ipinsagba and Mrs. Bosede Osunmakinwa; Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Education, Science and Technology, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Finance, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Works, Permanent Secretary, Establishments and Permanent Secretary, Lands.

The newly inaugurated members for the Local Government Service Commission Board, LGSC,  include Mr. Femi Idris, Chairman, and has its members as follow; Mr. Ife Iji, Mr. Festus Akinlotan, Mr. Moses Oluwagbamila and Mr. Jopson Olawale Sunday- Representing the National Union of Local Government Employees, NULGE.

While Mr Arinze Okafor (Igbo), Kareem Moshood (Igbira) and Bala Umar, (Hausa) were inaugurated respectively as Special Advisers on Non – Indigenes.

Earlier, the Commissioner for Education in the state, Mr. Femi Agagu thanked  governor Rotimi Akeredolu for deeming it fit to constitute the governing boards of the four tertiary institutions in the state noting that it will ultimately give birth to befitting education system in the state.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here